EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT NYC! | NEW YORK, PART 1

ritaschweigli, new york, everything you need to know about nyc

It is really no secret. I LOVE New York! The second time it has taken me to Big Apple and the same year later. So I had to write an "Everything You Need to Know About NYC" guide. But there is a second part, as the city has so much to offer.

MANHATTAN
© 2008-2018 NewConstructionManhattan.com

The skyscrapers, Central Park and the ultra rich à la Gossip Girl are located right in Manhattan. The big island in the middle, surrounded by the Hudson and East River. Highly recommended, especially if you have never been to New York, right in town.

Conveniently live with good location!

The description favorable in New York is really relative to see. It's not a cheap city, but for me it's worth every penny. We first stayed at Airbnb in the Financial District near China Town, Downtown. Was very good price & location, but at Airbnb everything is to be treated with caution. Hygienically that was unfortunately not (despite private bath).

On the second visit I decided to stay for a "hotel". This time in the lower part of Harlem (145th Street). The accommodation was also more like Airbnb (including kitchen etc.), but super clean! The district was still pretty much ridiculed a few years ago. Of that, my girlfriend and I have noticed absolutely nothing. The subway was no 5 minutes away and bars, cafes and delicious restaurants were just around the corner on Amsterdam Avenue.

Can you therefore recommend Harlem and the Financial District to the heart. Not quite so expensive and with the subway (New Yorker do not say Metro, -) you are super fast in the city center. Brooklyn and Williamsburg are certainly cool and cheap to live in, but then you drive a bit more to Manhattan.

Must Sees - Sights worth seeing!

ritaschweigli, new york, flatiron building
FLATIRON BUILDING

An absolutely ingenious building is the 1902 opened Flatiron Building. With a height of 91 meters, it is now a tiny, but the special shape still makes it so special. In the immediate vicinity is the Madison Square Parkthat invites you to chill out, especially in summer. But you can also shop in the area quite well. Anyway, this is an absolute must when in NYC!

For those who want to take pictures with the building - there is a lot going on there! So either you come in very early or you stand up somewhere, then maybe not too many people are up there.

Of course, when it comes to buildings, I do not want to leave out the Empire State Building (front page picture) and the Chrysler Building. Well worth seeing and you should at least on one of the two buildings up and enjoy the view. Ideally, even on both, one by day and the other by night.

ritaschweigli, new york, skylineSKYLINE | BROOKLYN BRIDGE

Gosh, how many times have we not seen pictures of the incredibly impressive skyline in New York? Theoretically you should have had enough. In my case that is absolutely not true. In real, it is even more incredible. To see the skyline properly, there are some nice places. I recommend you the Brooklyn Heights and the Dumbo district in Brooklyn. Is right on the water and you really have a great view. From there you can even take pictures without tourists in the picture.

The picture on the right was taken directly on the Brooklyn Bridge, which you should necessarily cross (from Brooklyn to Manhattan)! Although this is really crowded, but not at all long & the view and the feeling is worth it. I mean - who does not remember the scene from Sex and the City (the movie) where Miranda & Steve meet and hug each other after their breakup? Ok, maybe just me - but the point is - it's free, always traversable and you have a great view.

TRIBECA | SOHO | GREENWICH VILLAGE | CHELSEA
ritaschweigli, new york

The photo shows part of Greenwich Street, which starts at about the World Trade Center and ends only in the West Village. In the picture you can see the Empire State Building in the background. It's great to see modern and old NYC buildings together.

The most important: go on foot! The subway is tempting and I recommend you too, but only after you've seen a lot. Start in Downtown & Head Uptown. On the first visit, we went 42.000 a thousand steps and had a lot of foot pain in the evening, but I would do it again!

If you want to meet celebrities - it's best to hang in Tribeca from. Although celebrities just take the subway - I have eg. Woody Allen hit - not a cool guy, but still wrong that takes the subway. Just the same is constantly being shot and almost everywhere. We actually stopped by "Set it up" (of course we did not know that back then) and saw Zoey Deutch (the lead actress). So keep your eyes open!

ritaschweigli, new york, audrey hepburn, soho, little italy

Soho houses one of my absolute favorite places in New York - Little Italy, My absolute favorite Italians there: Paesano, Good price and taste the hammer. Unfortunately not vegan, but a lot of vegetarian. The dreamlike picture (right) of Audrey Hepburn can be found in small Italy, as well as many other nice places. A bit further you will find China Town - you just have to see it. There you can theoretically treat yourself to a cheap massage.

In Greenwich Village I stood in front of the famous Carrie Bradshaw home AND the real one of Sarah Jessica Parker. Ok, that was kinda stalker-like hahaha but I just wanted to watch it. If you are synonymous to such hot spots I would recommend the countless film tours, there is usually everything important. The "house" of Friends can also be found in the area.

ritaschweigli, new york, everything you need to know about nyc

Which of course is not missing in the "Everything you need to know about NYC" guide Chelsea! The district where you can visit the Highline and the Meatpacking District. There, the rich and "beautiful" (or operated haha) romp about.

The Chelsea Market should definitely be on your list, there you can go to the toilet for free and enjoy great food. In winter also not a bad place to warm up briefly, there is always a lot to see. Just the decoration makes a lot - in October, the Halloween theme is quite big! Hanging arms, eyeballs and giant spiders are not uncommon.

The Highline is really cool. By the way, how did it happen that an old railway track was converted into a "floating" park? read here. In summer, however, it is definitely more pleasant than in winter. This time it was so windy and uncomfortable, there was only a short stay possible. But do not recommend to drop by one way or the other!


As mentioned in the title and the short description, there is not "everything you need to know about NYC!" I am already working on the second post where I want to focus more on food. But also in the other part I will insert short descriptions to the places and the like. But the focus should clearly be on "food".

I hope you had a lot of fun reading and have taken a bit of something. Anyway, I'm glad you were there. You are welcome to comment on any questions or requests, I can then, for example, in the next post install.

Until the next part of "Everything you need to know about NYC" ????

Comments

  1. Pingback: Oven Tomatoes on Pasta by Rita | Vegan - carinaberry.com

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

ALLES WAS DU ÜBER NYC WISSEN MUSST! | NEW YORK, TEIL 1

ritaschweigli, new york, alles was du über nyc wissen musst

Es ist wirklich kein Geheimnis. Ich LIEBE New York! Das zweite Mal hat es mich nun nach Big Apple verschlagen und das gleich im Jahr darauf. Daher musste ich einen “Alles was du über NYC wissen musst” Guide schreiben. Es folgt aber ein zweiter Teil, da die Stadt einfach unendlich viel zu bieten hat.

 

MANHATTAN
© 2008-2018 NewConstructionManhattan.com

Die Hochhäuser, der Central Park und die ultra Reichen à la Gossip Girl befinden sich direkt in Manhattan.  Die große Insel in der Mitte, umgeben vom Hudson und East River. Empfehlenswert ist es also, vor allem wenn man noch nie in New York war direkt in der Stadt zu wohnen.

Günstig mit guter Lage wohnen!

Die Beschreibung günstig ist in New York wirklich relativ zu sehen. Es handelt sich leider um keine billige Stadt, aber für mich ist sie jeden extra Cent wert. Wir haben das erste Mal über Airbnb im Financial District nähe China Town gewohnt, also Downtown. War vom Preis & der Lage her sehr gut, aber bei Airbnb ist alles mit Vorsicht zu genießen. Hygienisch war das leider nicht (trotz Privatbad).

Beim zweiten Besuch habe ich mich daher für einen “Hotel” Aufenthalt entschieden. Diesmal im unteren Teil von Harlem (145th Street). Die Unterkunft war zwar auch eher wie Airbnb (inkl. Küche etc.), aber super sauber! Der Stadtteil war vor einigen Jahren noch ziemlich verschrien. Davon haben meine Freundin und ich aber absolut gar nichts gemerkt. Die Ubahn war keine 5 Minuten weg und Bars, Cafés sowie leckere Restaurants waren gleich ums Eck auf der Amsterdam Avenue.

Kann euch daher Harlem und das Financial District ans Herz legen. Nicht ganz so teuer und mit der Subway (New Yorker sagen nicht Metro ;- ) ist man super flott in der Stadtmitte. Brooklyn und Williamsburg sind sicher auch cool und billig zum Wohnen, aber da fährt man dann schon ein ganzes Stückchen mehr nach Manhattan.

 

Must Sees – Sehenswürdigkeiten, die es wert sind!

ritaschweigli, new york, flatiron building
FLATIRON BUILDING

Ein absolut geniales Gebäude ist das 1902 eröffnete Flatiron Building. Mit einer Höhe von 91 Metern ist es inzwischen ein Winzling, aber die besondere Form macht es immer noch so besonders. In unmittelbarer Umgebung ist der Madison Square Park, der vor allem im Sommer zum chillen einlädt. Aber auch shoppen kann man in der Umgebung ganz gut. Jedenfalls ist das ein absolutes muss, wenn man in NYC ist!

Für alljene die Fotos mit dem Gebäude machen wollen – es ist mega viel los dort! Also entweder ihr kommt super früh oder stellt euch irgendwo rauf, dann sind vielleicht nicht allzu viele Menschen oben.

Wenn es um Gebäude geht möchte ich natürlich das Empire State Building (Titelbild) sowie das Chrysler Building nicht außen vorlassen. Sehr sehenswert und am ihr solltet zumindest auf eines der beiden Gebäude rauf und die Aussicht genießen. Idealerweise sogar auf beide, eines bei Tag und das andere bei Nacht.

 

 

ritaschweigli, new york, skylineSKYLINE | BROOKLYN BRIDGE

Meine Güte, wie oft haben wir nicht schon Bilder von der unfassbar eindrucksvollen Skyline in New York gesehen. Theoretisch müsste man es satt haben. In meinem Fall trifft das aber absolut nicht zu. In echt ist sie noch viel unglaublicher. Um die Skyline richtig zu sehen, gibt es einige nette Plätze. Ich empfehle euch die Brooklyn Heights und den Bezirk Dumbo in Brooklyn. Liegt direkt am Wasser und man hat echt einen mega Ausblick. Von dort aus könnt ihr sogar Bilder ohne Touris im Bild machen.

Das Bild rechts habe ich direkt auf der Brooklyn Bridge aufgenommen, die ihr unbedingt (von Brooklyn nach Manhattan) überqueren solltet! Die ist zwar wirklich crowded, aber dafür gar nicht lang & der Ausblick sowie das Feeling ist es wert. Ich meine – wer erinnert sich nicht an die Szene aus Sex and the City (dem Film) wo sich Miranda & Steve treffen und sich nach ihrer Trennung wieder in die Arme fallen? Ok, vielleicht nur ich – but the point is – es ist kostenlos, immer überquerbar und ihr habt ‘ne super Aussicht.

 

TRIBECA | SOHO | GREENWICH VILLAGE | CHELSEA
ritaschweigli, new york

Das Foto zeigt einen Teil der Greenwich Street, die ungefähr beim World Trade Center beginnt und erst im West Village endet. In der Aufnahme seht ihr im Hintergrund das Empire State Building. Es ist toll wie moderne und alte Gebäude in NYC zusammenfinden.

Das wichtigste: geht zu Fuß! Die Ubahn ist verlockend und die empfehle ich euch auch, aber erst nachdem ihr schon einiges gesehen habt. Startet in Downtown & geht Richtung Uptown. Beim ersten Besuch sind wir 42.000 Tausend Schritte gegangen und hatten ziemlich Fußweh am Abend, aber ich würde es genauso wieder machen!

Falls ihr Prominente treffen wollt – hängt ihr am besten in Tribeca ab. Obwohl Prominente auch einfach die U-Bahn nehmen – ich habe zb. Woody Allen getroffen – kein cooler Typ, aber dennoch irre, dass der die Ubahn nimmt. Genauso wird ständig und fast überall gedreht. Wir sind tatsächlich beim Dreh von “Set it up” (wussten wir natürlich damals noch nicht) vorbei und haben Zoey Deutch (die Hauptdarstellerin) gesehen. Haltet also eure Augen offen!

ritaschweigli, new york, audrey hepburn, soho, little italy

Soho beherbergt einen meiner absoluten Lieblingsorte in New York – Little Italy. Meine absoluter Lieblingsitaliener dort: Paesano. Preislich gut und geschmacklich der Hammer. Leider nicht vegan, aber viel vegetarisches. Das traumhafte Bild (rechts) von Audrey Hepburn findet ihr auch im kleinen Italien, wie noch so viele andere nette Plätze. Ein Stückchen weiter findet ihr dann China Town – muss man einfach gesehen haben. Dort könnt ihr euch theoretisch eine günstige Massage gönnen.

In Greenwich Village stand ich vor dem berühmten Carrie Bradshaw Zuhause UND dem echten von Sarah Jessica Parker. Ok, das war schon irgendwie Stalker-mäßig hahaha aber ich wollt’s mir einfach nur anschauen. Falls ihr auch auf solche Hot Spots steht würde ich euch die unzähligen Filmtouren empfehlen, da ist meist alles Wichtige dabei. Das “Haus” von Friends findet man auch in der Gegend.

ritaschweigli, new york, alles was du über nyc wissen musst

Was natürlich im “Alles was du über NYC wissen musst” Guide nicht fehlen darf ist Chelsea! Der Stadtteil wo man die Highline und das Meatpacking District besuchen kann. Dort tummeln sich auch eher die Reichen und “Schönen” (oder operierten haha).

Der Chelsea Market sollte jedenfalls auf eurer Liste stehen, dort könnt ihr kostenlos aufs WC gehen und super gutes Essen genießen. Im Winter auch kein schlechter Platz um sich kurz aufzuwärmen, es gibt immer einiges zu sehen. Allein die Deko macht schon einiges aus – im Oktober ist das Halloween Thema ganz groß! Hängende Arme, Augäpfel und riesen Spinnen sind da keine Seltenheit.

Die Highline ist wirklich mega cool. Wie es überhaupt dazu gekommen ist, dass ein altes Bahngleis zu einem “schwebendem” Park umfunktioniert wurde könnt ihr übrigens hier nachlesen. Im Sommer ist es jedoch definitiv angenehmer als im Winter. Dieses Mal war es so windig und ungemütlich, da war nur ein kurzer Aufenthalt möglich. Empfehle euch aber so oder so vorbei zu schauen!


Wie im Titel und der kurzen Beschreibung schon erwähnt ist, dass noch nicht “alles was du über NYC wissen musst!” Ich arbeite bereits an dem zweiten Beitrag wo ich mehr auf das Thema Essen eingehen möchte. Aber auch im anderen Teil werde ich Kurzbeschreibungen zu den Orten und ähnliches einbauen. Die Fokussierung soll aber ganz klar bei “Food” liegen.

Ich hoffe ihr hattet ganz viel Spaß beim Lesen und habt ein bisschen was mitgenommen. Ich freue mich jedenfalls, dass ihr da wart. Gerne könnt ihr auch noch Fragen oder Wünsche äußern, diese kann ich dann bspw. in den nächsten Beitrag einbauen.

Bis zum nächsten Teil von “Alles was du über NYC wissen musst” 🙂

Kommentare

  1. Pingback: Ofentomaten auf Pasta von Rita | Vegan - carinaberry.com

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.